Mail Mishaps

OK….as long as I can remember, I have always heard that it was hard to get a job at the post office.  I have heard that you have to be put on a waiting list, take a test, etc. And of course, if you get a job at the post office…..people always say or think “You have a good job!” As of late, I am beginning to think it cannot be hard to get a job there based on our recent mail fiascoes we have had. Apparently, there is a new mail lady delivering mail in my neighborhood and either she is strung out, does not know her numbers or just simply does not care. For the past 3-4 months, we keep getting the wrong mail on a regular basis. Once every now and then is understandable, 2 is still under the concern limit when you consider how many pieces of mail one postal worker handles in one day. But, for this to happen every single week is concerning and frustrating to say the least. And, it causes me to wonder who is getting my mail and will they walk it over to me like I take it to my neoghbors. One day, I was working from home and decided I would “stake” out my window around possible mail delivey hours. I just wanted to get a glimpse of the individual who consistenyly screws up our mail. So, I waited and waited until she arrived. She pulled up and it was somewhat clear how I keep getting mail that is two streets over. Her clothing was disheveled and her appearance was less than stellar even as a mail clerk. If you are not organized in dress, it may cause you to be unorganized in your work. I politely went out and spoke to her about the mail situation and informed her that we keep getting the wrong mail. She muttered something unidentifiable and off she went. That was 2 months ago and the wrong mail slowed down for a while. But….now it has resurfaced with a vengeance. We used to only get 1 piece of wrong mail and then last week, I am pretty sure we got all of all neighbor’s mail as I sifted through our stack. I went to go give the mail to the neighbor and they also confirmed they receive the wrong mail also. Out of 650 homes in our subdivision, I just wonder how many people are wanting to strike the post office??? So, now do you see why I am starting to doubt if it is really hard to work for the post office??? By the looks of how I am receiving my mail, the requirements just seem to be able to drive on the right side of the car. All in all, I hope it gets better soon.

Leave a Reply

