9/11 Forever in our Memory

People say that there are certain events that happen in your life that leave an indelible mark on you and your consciousness. I would say that September 11, 2001 has imprinted an indelible mark on everyone’s life in some way. You can instantly recall where you were when you heard about the news and what type of day it was, etc. For me, I was working for Target at the time and had just gotten a promotion the day before. I had taken a day off that Tuesday and was at the gym exercising. I was on the treadmill walking and wishing I had the energy to run:) I was watching the TV when all of a sudden I watched the 1st plane go into the World Trade Center. I went completely blank for awhile as I could not quite comprehend what I was seeing. It seemed so unreal. I just remember being in a daze. I got off the treadmill and by the time I got home, the 2nd plane had it and I then started to get a reality on what was happening.  I remember sitting in my living room still in my exercise clothes for the rest of the day glued to the TV screen. I remember feeling scared and vulnerable and inwardly panicked.

It has been 7 years since this dreadful event and every time I see the pictures of that event, I relive those same feelings again. I was fortunate that I did not personally know or lose anyone in this horrible event. But, there are thousands of others who did. Let us remember those families who daily feel the pain and loss of their love marks. 9/11 also left an indelible mark on them and it took away people they loved.  Let us not forget…

Leave a Reply

