All Things New

It is a new year and not only is it a new year, it is 2009! I remember being in the 90’s thinking the year 2000 was a strange number. Remember Y2K? It seems like only yesterday and now we are at 2009. The time has flown, but one thing remains the same-it is a new year and with a new year comes new resolutions.

We all know that most new year resolution are new on January 1 and are old by January 31. I have accepted that many years ago, but I still think a new year can symbolize a new beginning. It is a great time to evaluate what may need to be different in the new year. I accept the fact that I may have some of the same resolutions in 2010 that I make in 2009, but that is OK. I may even have to re-commit or remind myself midyear and that is OK too. Life should be a continuous learning opportunity, so why not take advantage of a new year to re-chart our course or change our direction. With that being said, here are my 2009 resolutions:

  • Develop a closer relationship with God that compels me to obey him fully and to share his love with others. If we really believe that Jesus is coming again soon and if we believe he is the greatest-why do we not share his love and his story with those who do not know him or have forgotten about him?  Why do we not obey fully the things he has asked us to do?
  • Continue being a good steward of our finances and getting out of debt. We have been working on this for the past few years and it has been a blessing. In 2008 alone, we paid off a car, an old student loan, furniture bill, and 2 major credit cards!
  • Engage in a healthier lifestyle to include better eating choices, exercise, improved sleep habits, etc. I started going back to the gym last week and I have come up with some healthier eating choices for the family. My first goal is to be healthier and as a result of being healthy, I would like to lose weight. I want to be able to go up my steps at home and not be winded as I near the top. I want to be able to walk briskly without my heart hurting. I want to be able to wear the clothes in my closet that still have tags on them that I bought saying “I am going to get in that.” Trust me, if I lost weight I would have a whole new wardrobe that I would not have to buy.
  • Spend more quality time with my family. Instead of giving my all to my job or to others, I want to take extra pauses in life and play the game my daughter is begging to play for the 100th time. I want to pause and make the call I do not feel like making just to let someone know I was thinking about them and say hello. I want to be the nice wife even when I want to be the mean one:) I want to be a better sister, wife, daughter and friend. It will take sacrifice at times, but it is well worth it and will pay great dividends.
  • Lastly, I want to take care of me. This is the first time I have made a resolution of this sort, but I feel it is needed. I want to make sure this year that I take time to pause and do something nice for myself.  As a motherand wife, I often give my first, best and last to the kids or my husband, and then put myself on the back burner. This year, I plan to include myself in the giving. I will take time to exercise ( don’t I deserve 30 minutes 3-4 times a week?).  I will go and get my loved pedicures. I will steal away and read the magazine I have been trying to read. In short, my goal is to put myself on the to-do list for 2009.

Have you made any commitments for 2009?

Leave a Reply

