Scale Back Alabama

One of my new year’s resolutions was to get in better shape through better eating and exercise. The month is halfway over and so far, I am still committed to this resolution. I officially started my “new lifestyle” on January 5 and have done fairly decent with eating changes and exercise. Well, last week a test came. A test to see how committed I really was. That test was called Scale Back Alabama. This is a program found at http://www.scalebackalabama.com.  Scale Back Alabama is a statewide contest held the first of each year to encourage Alabamians to get healthier by losing weight and exercising. We are doing this program at work and one of my peers asked me to be on their team. The program lasts 10 weeks and the goal is for each person on the team to lose 10lbs in 10 weeks. Simple enough huh? Sure for the average person who is 2 lbs. overweight that wants to lose 15 lbs! (this represents my other 3 team members by the way) But, for someone that struggles with weight and has a hard enough time keeping herself focused-this just adds to the pressure and stress of a real commitment. I want to get healthy on my terms, by my speed and by my way. I do not want to have a group of three other ladies depending on me to do my share. That is the raw truth as bad as it may be.

But, I am new on the team and I could not come up with a “good” reason to say no. So, I said yes. I am on a team and need to lose at least 10 lbs in 10 weeks. Yea for me! Okay, I got over that and then the next drama comes. We had to weigh in to get our initial weight and then give our weight card to our team leader. My first thought was to bail for sure. It is one thing for people to see that you are overweight, but it is another ball game for them to see the “number” that represents just how overweight you really are! What more could be asked of me? Well…again I come not come up with a good reason to not do this part, so I just played it calm, cool, and collected. I weighed in and turned in my card. So, now one of my peers knows just how overweight I really am. There you have it.

All of a sudden, I do not feel good about that and must go. Stay tuned for the next 10 weeks of the “Work Biggest Loser”.

Leave a Reply

