Happy Mother’s Day

I had a good Mother’s Day. When I came home from work Friday, I declared it Mother’s Day Weekend! I called a family meeting and informed them of my declaration and what it meant. I explained to them that mommy was on vacation until Monday morning and that even though they saw me, I was not really there:) Of course, Lauren immediately went into “question box” mode and spit out question after question. I explained that all her questions, needs, wants, favors should be directed to her father. I let her know that mommy was not making any decisions or doing any work the entire weekend. It was liberating just to even say that!

Everyone played along with my declaration and gave me a much needed break. Marcus took care of the kids the whole weekend. He cooked breakfast on Sunday morning while I slept late until 8:30 am! They surprised me with cards and gifts (shoes, pedicure treatment, dinner). The best gift of all though was when I actually left the house for about 5 hours and shopped all by myself. It was peaceful and quiet.

It was a great day and I am thankful for my two beautiful kids. Otherwise, I would not have been able to make a declaration..it would have been just another Sunday.

Leave a Reply

