Little Valedictorian!

IMG_0045Last week was one of my proudest moments as a mommy as I watched my 5 year old daughter graduate from kindergarten. I sat in my seat with my heart about to jump out of my chest beaming with  pride. The best part of the night happened as we watched her read her “valedictorian” speech. Her teacher requested that she speak at her graduation so everyone could hear her reading competence. She read the whole thing through flawlessly without one hint of being nervous. Her teacher called her the valedictorian of her class! Here is the speech I wrote for her to read:

     Good evening and thanks to everyone that has come to help us celebrate our kindergarten and eighth grade graduations. It is not everyday that a 5 year old gets asked to speak at her kindergarten graduation. So, when my mommy first asked me if I wanted to do it, I was hesitant. My mommy told me it was my decision but strongly encouraged me to do it. She said it would be a chance I would never have again. Plus, she promised me I could pick a special treat if I agreed to do it. I think that is called bribery!

      Well, here I am and tonight I want to tell you a story about me and my experiences at Hoover Christian School. As for me, I am your average 5 year old little girl. I love to play with my friends, watch Dora, paint and ride my bike. I also like to play with my baby brother Lucas and help my mommy around the house. But, one of my favorite things to do is to read books and go to the library. I beg my mommy to take me to the library all the time. I started reading when I was 3 and I have been hooked on books since then.

      Now, let me tell you why I love Hoover Christian. I have made lots of friends and we have a good time. First, I am blessed to have a great teacher, Mrs. Petty. She is nice and patient. She starts our mornings off with worship every day and she teaches us about God. Also, I love playing with my friends in my class: Cierra, Christian Beavers, Christian Friend, and Peyton. We have had fun all year. We took field trips to the fire station and we went to see the play “If You Give a Pig a Pancake.”  This year, we have learned a lot. We have learned about our church history, learned how to tell time, learned the days of the week and the months of the year. Thanks Mrs. Petty for a great year!

      Another thing I love about Hoover Christian is the fun time we have at lunches and eating Mrs. Angel’s food! She knows how to cook so kids eat tomato soup and think it is yummy! Thank you Mrs. Angel and I am sure my parents thank you for giving me more vegetable points.

      Last, but not least I love Hoover Christian because it has started me on a great foundation for a Christian education. The same things that my mommy and daddy teach me at home is what I learn at school. The same kids in my class are the same kids I can see at church. I pray at home and I pray at school. I thank my parents for spending their money or as my daddy would say-“hard-earned Money” so I can go to school here.

      Well, tomorrow is my last day of kindergarten and I will miss this part of my education. But, I am excited about going to first grade. I think it will be awesome!

      I have made it to the end of my story and I hope you know a little bit more about me and my experiences at Hoover Christian. I think I have now talked long enough to earn my special treat mommy promised me. Thanks again for coming to see all of us graduate. I pray that God will bless all of you and your families. I also pray that the library is still open after graduation tonight because that is what I picked for my special treat!

 Thank you and good night!

It was a great night and one I will not soon forget. Below are some pictures of my first grader!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Little Valedictorian!

  1. Wonderful blog! Especially since I can see Lauren and read all about her adventures… and thanks for saying such nice things about the school, in her speech.
    You make me want to start a blog myself. I wonder how much time it takes?

Leave a Reply

