Thanksgiving 2009

Today is a day set aside to give thanks. I appreciate this holiday because it is a great reminder and catalyst for us to pause amidst our busyness and say thanks.  My life the past few months has been hurried, chaotic and full of routine chores of wife, mommy, employee, friend, etc. Hectic is an understatement. But, today as I pause and catch my breath, I am thankful for several things:

1. God’s grace-I feel so undeserving of it and stand in awe that he continues to allow me to experience it.

2. Family- My kids and husband remind me constantly of unconditional love. I am glad for the times we get to share and spend together. My beautiful daughter Lauren is so smart and so full of life. She is always trying to learn something new and is so loving. Lucas has shown me just how quickly my heart can turn to putty as he looks up at me with his big brown eyes and long eyelashes.

3. Friends-The world would be a lonely place without my friends. I appreciate the times they call and check on me when time has lapsed. I appreciate them being happy with me when I am happy and caring for me when I am sad. I appreciate being able to be who I am and they still want to be friend after seeing “who” that is.

4. My job-In this time of recession, I am thankful for being employed and I love the company I work for. It has been one of the greatest experiences of my career and I am indeed grateful for the opportunity.

There are other things that I am thankful for but I am out of time, space and breath for now. I am glad for this pause in my life and I hope to maintain this level of thankfulness even when the busyness returns…

Leave a Reply

