Friendships

One of my friends told me in college that she read an article that said American friendships are unique. The thing that makes them unique she said is that no matter how long you may go without talking…you can just pick up where you left off. At the time, I was not sure if I agreed or disagreed, but that thought has always stuck with me. I often ask myself why would that be with just American friendships and not other cultural friendships. I have even found myself wanting to find the article she referenced so I could “finish” it in my mind and get my questions answered.

Well..this weekend I connected with two of my closest friends from high school that I had not seen or hardly talked to in the last ten years. It was so awesome to see them again and I found myself overjoyed that we were able to reconnect. We literally picked up where we left off. The conversation flowed easily as we laughed, joked and reminisced about the days of high school. Memories flooded my mind and I continued to remember all the fun times we had shared and how close we really were in high school. A part of me was saddened that so much time had passed and we had not kept in touch. I thought about all the important things in my life they had missed and the parts of their lives I was not aware of. As I shared in the joy and in the sadness, I made a mental commitment to not let this much time pass again.

I do not know that we will ever be as close as we were before, but I do know that I don’t want to be ten years apart again. I am grateful for those friendships and grateful that I now agree with the article that says you can pick up where you left off.

We truly did.

One thought on “Friendships

  1. I like your post. friends come and go but there are only so many who leave foot prints in your heart and those are the ones that matters. i lke how you reach out with your old friends and pick up were you guys left of .

Leave a Reply

