Happy New Year 2012

Happy New Year 2012!! I have made it to see a new year and I am thankful for that. This is one of the few times in recent years that I was actually awake when the new year came in. As typical like most, at the beginning of a new year, you start to reflect on what happened in the previous year and what you want to happen in the new year. What usually results in a list of New Year’s Resolutions. Some people are committed to doing them every year while some say they don’t work so they purposely avoid them. Well, I typically set some, but this year I wanted to evaluate how I did with the ones I sent in the beginning of 2011. So, ..I went back to my blog post from January 2011 and here are the things I resolved to do in 2011 and the update on what I actually DID:
  • Reviving a spiritual connection with God to include daily prayer and devotion-Mmmm, I do think I revived my spiritual connection with God but I am nowhere near pleased  about my consistency and fervor that I know I need in this area. But there is progress still being made on this one and I am thankful that I did not go backwards, but in my heart and mind I have a desire to move forward.
  • Practice healthy habits-drinking more water, exercise, better eating choices, and earlier bedtime-Overall, I would say I did a good job with this definitely in terms of my effort and awareness. I lost 25lbs this year and kept it off!! Although my original goal was to lose 40+ lbs, I am so thankful that I did something and maintained it. 
  • Focus on work/life blending-saying no to some work activities or events so that I can spend more time at home-I started in a new role January 25 which was not part of the plan when I did my New Year’s resolutions. So the first few months of the year, the work/life blending was more of a blur than a blend just to get acclimated to the new job. But, later in the year I did get this better under control and things started to blend together definitely more.
  • More intentionally focused time with my husband and children-I would give myself an average grade on this one. I was definitely more aware and tried to purposely plan time in to do this. I often would try to arrange my schedule some days so I could pick up kids early or keep the weekends and extra time free just so we could spend quiet time together at home. I was able to go on a field trip with Lauren’s class to the Alabama Theatre and made it to the annual Thanksgiving dinner at her school.
  • Taking care of me-doing things for me even when I have to say NO to others-YEA!!! I took care of me this year more so than I have in the past. I became more comfortable with saying no to others if it meant that I was taking care of me. Some phone calls I let go to voicemail so I could give my kids focused attention at dinner instead of multitasking dipping food on the kids’ plates while a phone is glued to my ear. Other times I have said no to other people simply because it meant doing for them would cause myself to go lacking. I did not do this from a selfish standpoint, but did it to take care of me which has long been lacking. I have found that often times I took care of others  and their needs and I was left wanting and when I did not have anything left to give them, they were just fine and moved on either to the next person or were fine without me catering to their needs.

Would I have done those things without my set of New Years resolutions? I am not sure I would have had the focused and deliberate attention I did this year. I think mentally going through the exercise, documenting it and then verbalizing it to someone else gives your resolutions all a more firm foundation. So, as I approach 2012 I have some continued resolutions that I want to work on. My first resolution has cracked a few people up when I tell them:

1. Rewrite my DNA! Yes, that is right. People think that is so funny and then they quickly ask me “How are you going to do that?” I reply and say I do not know, but I plan to do it. Watching my family and observing my kids I come quickly to the conclusion that DNA is STRONG! It is amazing to me how my kids can act just like me and their dad without any training, coercing, or intentional transfer on our part. It is just in them. I guess that is what you call DNA. Well….they are certain things I do not like about myself on how I respond to things, things that I do and I ask myself “Why do I do that?’ It is my default character in situations and it is frankly my DNA that I was born with, uncultivated and unadulterated. Yet, I still want to change some of those unwanted tendencies and habits. Hence…the rewriting of my DNA. My first goal is acceptance of who I am and being ok that there are parts I love and there are some parts I love less. Second, I will work on awareness and use internal observation to check and gauge how I am responding to things and take an alternate approach when I am acting my “usual” way but the not the way I would like. Trust me..this will be a continued work in progress.

2. Lose 30 more lbs. in 2012. This is just a continuation of what I have already started in 2011 so I will just continue to persevere towards that goal. Part of this goal to live a better, healthier life is to try to run in a 5K this year. I am contemplating walking/running in my first 5K in May and this will be a huge accomplishment if I go through with it and pull it off.

3. Helping others- I have a continued desire to help others in any way that I can whether it be through finances, knowledge, material needs, etc. I think we are all blessed with something we can give to the cause of others and we often fail to do this. Going through the recent death in our family has shown me glimpses of how to be more compassionate and attuned to the needs of others. I simply want to help where I can.

4. Shaping the character of my children-Lauren will be 9 this year and Lucas will turn 4. Time is quickly moving and I feel like the clock has run off and left me when it comes to the work I feel I need to do with my children. I want them to become well-mannered, hard-working and ethical young people who are accountable for themselves and that have a compassion for others. But, most importantly I want to truly give them the gift of having a relationship with Christ. If they have that, all the other things will come in succession. So, my job this year is to be an example at home (which is why I have to re-write my DNA) and then tell them about the great example of God.

Four main things. All four are the work of a lifetime ,not just 365 days. But..there has to be a beginning in order for an ending or completion to come.

So…I will start on my journey today with a renewed commitment and desire to become a better me in 2012!

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year 2012

  1. Pingback: Running ! « In My Own Words

  2. Pingback: 2013 Resolutions in First Class « In My Own Words

Leave a Reply

