Nature’s Rewards

Picture of the mountains

Picture of the mountains

I am a city girl-born and raised in the city and do not know much about the country. Neither did I grow up being an outside girl. I was not signing up for hiking, camping, or anything of the sort. The most I have learned about the country has been through Marcus because his parents moved to the country when he was approaching high school and he has shared what it was like moving from the city to the country. When he first told me about it, I can remember turning my nose up and feeling sorry for him. Now, 10 years later I no longer turn my nose up at the thought of living in the country, going to the country, being out in nature, etc. I even went on my first camping trip 2 years ago and had a blast! I love being outside working in my yard, in the park, walking a trail and just being among nature.

Tree beautiful and full of color!

Tree beautiful and full of color!

Lucas having fun outside

Lucas having fun outside

Well, this weekend the family and I went to a spiritual retreat at Cohutta Springs Conference Center. Cohutta Springs is located in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains in Crandall, GA-about maybe 50 miles from Chattanooga, TN. The place is absolutely gorgeous and full of nature’s beautiful scenery. It is surrounded by beautiful foliage and lakes. They have nicely decorated, clean, and accommodating facilities. They have a gymnasium, a pool, canoes, walking trails and horseback riding. In between the services, we spent time outside in nature and it was beyond peaceful.

There is a reward of peace in being out in nature. It is hard to be consumed with the cares of this world looking out over the mountains that God has created. If you pause and look at nature, all of a sudden your steps get slower, your work thoughts begin to stall, and you enter in a silent peace and calm. What a beautiful gift! The city is full of hustle and bustle, therefore our thoughts and minds are constantly running just to keep up. Whereas in the country, it is slower and as a result we slow down. The next time stress gets to a maximum, go out in nature…..and let it take its course! You will receive a reward:)

View of lake and canoes

View of lake and canoes