My Little Bookworm

Lauren in her sitting area w/ a book!

Lauren in her sitting area w/ a book!

My 5-year old daughter Lauren is brilliant! Of course, every mom thinks their child is, so I am no different in that regard. However, I am a pretty modest person and not one to brag about myself or my kids on anything. But, I am so amazed at her and since it is my blog, I get to write about whatever I want right? Well, Lauren LOVES books. She always has since she was 3 and the fascination with books continues to grow and grow. She has been reading since she was 3 1/2 years old! At her last evaluation at the beginning of the school year, she was reading on a 4th grade level! We literally cannot keep enough books in the house for her. Her school sends home book order forms and she begs for books every time. Going to the library is pure happinessfor her. We go to the library usually 1-2 times a month and check out 15 books at a time and she reads them in a couple of days.  I remember when I was younger, I was the exact same way. I loved going to the library in the summer and signing up for all the reading contests. So, some of this I am sure is hereditary.

Every free moment she is reading. She has to take books every time we get in the car to go anywhere-it is her and her books. She rarely gets in trouble, but the reading obsession got so bad she started getting in trouble for reading her books in the car while it was dark after I told her to put them up. So, then we bought her a book light. So now, when it is time to go, it is her, her books, and her book light.

Then her room organizer ran out of space to hold all her books and her room was getting in disarray with books on the floor, etc. So, now we have bought a 5-shelf bookcase for all her books. She was so excited as her daddy put it together! We moved her little chair in front of her bookcase so she can sit there and pick books to read. It is her new favorite spot. 

When she started reading at such an early age, I got nervous because I did not want her to be so far ahead of her classmates her age. But, I received advice from a teacher who admonished me to not hold her back, but to encourage her love for reading and challenge her. So, we have tried to do that and she keeps asking for more. When we are out, people always remark how well she can read and they are surprised she is 5. They ask me how did I teach her and I am not sure how to answer. I started Hooked on Phonics with her when she was around 2 years old and she loved it. Plus, her school was advanced in their curriculum and that also helped. The rest I think is genes and God. He has truly blessed her with a gift. I do not know how long this love for books will continue, but for now she is Mommy’s little Bookworm:)

Leave a comment