Happy Birthday Lucas!

Mommy helping to blow out his candles

Mommy helping to blow out his candles

Lucas turned one on Thursday and it was a special day! As a mommy, I was glad that he reached that milestone, but yet Iwas sad too. Sad of the reality that he  has left babyhood and is becoming a toddler. Time has flown and the thoughts of him being a baby so small and nestled against me are long gone. As for his birthday celebration, we kept it simple, very simple. We picked up a small cake from Publix for him to play with and got party hats and sung Happy Birthday. That was it-short and sweet. Just enough to capture some photographic memories.

With Lauren’s 1st birthday, we went overboard as most first time parents do. We had an elaborate party that she only knows exists because she has seen her scrapbook with the pictures. We had 15-20 kids over and had games, a clown, the works! She was cranky the whole party and only wanted me to hold her. She did not like the clown and she refused to touch,smell, lick, or eat her cake. We had photographic memories, but it was at a much higher price.

Lucas and his cake

Lucas and his cake

Lucas enjoyed his home ” family party” and took to the cake quickly. He looked at it first trying to figure it out and then he reached and touched it. With each touch, he became more animated and more adventurous. The next thing you know we were washing cake and icing out of his hair! All in all, our baby has turned one and is growing up to be a big boy!

 

We are having fun now!

We are having fun now!

"I think I like it"

"I think I like it"

Ain't no stopping me now!

Ain't no stopping me now!

)

I want the cake, not the hat:)

Leave a comment